Bollywood Stars Urge Citizens to Vote in Lok Sabha Elections

The fifth phase of the Lok Sabha polls will be held on Monday, covering several key constituencies in Mumbai. Prominent Bollywood celebrities including Amitabh Bachchan, Karan Johar, Ayushmann Khurrana, and Ranvir Shorey have taken to social media to encourage people to vote.

Amitabh Bachchan’s Instagram Appeal

Amitabh Bachchan shared an animated video on Instagram featuring animals dancing to a remix of the popular song “Abhi Toh Party Shuru Hui Hai” from the movie Khoobsurat. Along with the video, he urged his followers, “Tomorrow is your day for Vote Mumbai/Maharashtra ….Exercise your right ..” reminding everyone to participate in the democratic process.

Karan Johar’s Instagram Stories

Karan Johar also took to Instagram, emphasizing the importance of every vote. In his stories, he wrote, “Mumbai votes tomorrow!! Make sure you cast your vote!!! Every vote matters!!! Jai Hind (National flag emoji).”

Ayushmann Khurrana’s Twitter Message

Ayushmann Khurrana reached out to voters on X (formerly known as Twitter), with a message in both Hindi and English: “Aapka vote aapki aawaz hai (Your vote is your voice). Exercise your right to vote tomorrow in Maharashtra. Matdan apka farz hai (Voting is your duty).” He also shared a video message stressing the significance of voting and how each vote can shape the country’s future.

Ranvir Shorey’s Instagram Video

Ranvir Shorey posted a video on Instagram, calling on fellow citizens to vote. He said, “Hello, my fellow Indian voters. As a citizen of India, I urge you all to go to your allotted local polling stations on Monday, the 20th of May, 2024, and cast your vote for the Lok Sabha elections. Please be responsible citizens, and exercise the precious right to vote that the Constitution of India gives us all. Vote boldly, without fear or favour, and strengthen the great democracy of our beloved.”

Previously, Shah Rukh Khan, Salman Khan, and other celebrities also encouraged citizens to vote. Their appeals have been part of a broader effort to increase voter turnout in Maharashtra, which is voting in five phases: April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20.

Constituencies Voting in Maharashtra

On May 20, the following constituencies in Maharashtra will vote: Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central, and Mumbai South. The counting of votes will take place on June 4.


More News

Top Stories